From The Heart

Posted: June 15, 2010 in QT's
Tags:

In a few weeks Brandi and I will be celebrating our 15th wedding anniversary (by celebrating I mean that we will be at youth camp with our students but that’s a topic for another time). Anyway, as I think back to that day (July 1, 1995) I remember both of us (as nervous as we could be) standing face to face before our pastor, church, families, and God making some pretty serious vows to each other. You know what I’m talking about; love, honor, cherish, obey, in sickness or health, for better or worse (I’m sure Brandi would like more of the better and less of the worse but it’s too late now, she’s stuck with me). The thing is, as I look back over the last 15 years or forward to the next I’m not thinking about all the things I have to do or all the things I can’t do because I’m Brandi’s husband. Our relationship is not about that. We do the things we do for each other because we love each other and want to do those things. There are also some things we don’t do because we love each other. We’ve never made a list of do’s and don’ts. We don’t have to. These things are just understood. That’s the way it happens when you give your heart away to someone else.

The same thing is true about being a follower of Jesus Christ. I think that many people believe in God and want to go to heaven when they die but they’re afraid of being “too religious”. They may think or say things like “Church is alright but you don’t have to go every Sunday” or “I worship in my own way” or many other things along those lines. Sometimes people even make excuses like “All they want is your money” or “That place is full of hypocrites” or “Sunday’s my only day off and I just need to unwind”… I’m think many people view Christianity as a set of rules, a list of do’s and don’ts that’s impossible to keep. Well, I’ve got good news for anyone who’s ever thought that (I’ve used all those excuses myself at one time or another), that’s not the way it is at all, or at least it shouldn’t be. In Hebrews 10:16 the writer, after speaking at great length about how Jesus’ sacrifice is sufficient to make us right with God, quotes an Old Testament passage from Jeremiah 31 where God says, “I will put my laws into their hearts, and in their minds I will write them.” There are certain things that I do and certain things I don’t because I’m a follower of Christ, just like there are certain things I do and certain things I don’t because I’m Brandi’s husband. I do them, or don’t do them, not because they’re on the list but because that’s where my heart is. I have a personal relationship with God through Jesus just like I have a personal relationship with my wife. I want to please Him because I love Him and I know He loves me. It’s really just a matter of the heart. When it comes to Jesus, where’s your heart?

Leave a Reply

