The Generous Mr. Lovewell

Posted: June 22, 2010 in Music
Tags:

I love music. It’s a very powerful thing. It can make us think, help us feel, show us beauty, and even draw us closer to God through worship. Every so often I’ll share my thoughts on a particular song or CD that I happen to be listening to. Feel free to respond with your own thoughts

I picked up a copy of the new Mercy Me CD, The Generous Mr. Lovewell, a couple of weeks ago and it’s been spending a lot of time in my truck’s CD player. At first I was just trying to decide if I liked it or not. It’s kind of different. That’s not a bad thing it’s just not what I expected. I’ve decided that I do like it. It’s probably not my favorite from them but because it’s kind of different musically from what they’ve done before but it makes me listen, and each time I listen I hear something new. Songs like All Of Creation, and Only You Remain sound like the Mercy Me we’re all familiar with and are just good worship songs. This Life is a different kind of song for them but it’s catchy. Crazy Enough sounds like it could be a theme song for a James Bond movie, but I like it. My favorite though is the song Move, it jams pretty hard and if you know me you know that’s what I like. In the chorus Bart Millard goes into a falsetto with some harmony parts and it sounds pretty cool. The whole CD is kind of a theme album based on this character named Mr. Lovewell. Mr. Lovewell shows his love for God by loving people (1 John 4:10-11). The point is that all Christians should be Lovewells. All too often we are so caught up into ourselves that we forget the love and grace we’ve been shown and the need to show that same love and grace to others. It’s a good message. Of course it reminds of John Bunyan a 17th Century preacher who spent many years in prison for preaching the gospel. He wrote several books while he was in prison including Pilgrim’s Progress and The Holy War. In those books all of the characters have names like Obstinate, Hategood, Christian, Christiana… No doubt the Mercy Me guys were inspired by this. If you like to read I would encourage you to get copies of these books. You can even find them in modern English if you look. They’re different, kind of like the CD, but they’re full of truth, it’s good stuff.

Leave a Reply

