How He Loves

Posted: July 8, 2010 in Music
Tags: ,

I know this may upset a few people but I have to be honest, I’m not a huge David Crowder fan. I mean, I’m sure he’s a nice guy and all and there’s no doubt that he loves God and that he’s a great musician and worship leader. I’m just saying that there are others that I prefer listening to. It’s just a personal preference thing. Now, having said that, I have to tell you that here lately I’ve been listening to his songHow he Loves and I just can’t quit listening to it. It’s been out for a while and I’ve heard it before but I never really listened to it because I have this tendency to tune brother David out when I hear him on the radio (sorry, more brutal honesty). The song is pretty amazing though. I realize that David Crowder didn’t write it but he does a great job of expressing the emotion of the song which is just a simple and honest reflection of God’s great love for all of us. My favorite line is this:

Heaven meets earth like an unforeseen kiss

and my heart turns violently inside of my chest

I don’t have time to maintain these regrets

when I think about the way He loves us

I know what he means. If you know me then you know sometimes when I’m teaching or preaching or praying I can turn into a big ol’ crybaby. Sometimes I just can’t help it. When I think about Jesus leaving heaven to become a man so He could die for my sin (heaven meets earth) I’m overcome with emotion (my heart turns violently inside of my chest) because I know the depth of my sin and the greatness of His love and grace. In those moments I am overcome by the power of His great affection. There’s a joy that’s unexplainable in realizing the love God has for us and learning to live in that love. Great song.

Leave a Reply

