I Will Rise

Posted: August 5, 2010 in QT's
Tags: , ,

This may come as a surprise to those who know me well but I have a confession to make. I’m a sci-fi fan (as if the Yoda ring tone on my phone didn’t give it away). What can I say? Star Wars came out when I was six and I’ve been hooked ever since. The cool thing about science fiction is that there are no boundaries to the imagination. Anything is possible which has led to some pretty outlandish tales and ideas (and unfortunately some pretty bad theology for many people, a little discernment really goes a long way, I’m just saying).

If we’re being honest though we have to admit that Christianity boasts some pretty wild claims too. For instance, the last few days I’ve been reading in 1 Corinthians 15 and it’s all about dead people being resurrected. I know, crazy huh? But that’s what the Bible says. In fact, in verses 12 and 13 Paul says, “Now if Christ is proclaimed as raised from the dead, how can some of you say there is no resurrection? But if there is no resurrection of the dead, then not even Christ has been raised.” If you’re having a hard time believing people can and will be raised from the dead, well, you’re not alone. Evidently many people in the church in Corinth were having a hard time believing it too. They just couldn’t get their minds wrapped around it. The thing is though, and this is the point Paul is making, is that the resurrection from the dead is a key teaching of Christianity. The hope that we have is in Jesus’ resurrection from the dead. This is essential to our faith because if Jesus didn’t rise from the dead then he’s still dead, and if He’s still dead then we’re still dead in our sins. There is no abundant or eternal life for us if Jesus isn’t alive because our life is in Him. In verse 14 Paul goes on to say, “And if Christ has not ben raised, then our preaching is in vain and your faith is vain” and in verse 17, “And if Christ has not been raised, your faith is futile and you are still in your sins.” If Jesus didn’t rise from the dead then there is no Christianity, it’s a farce, but since He did rise from the dead, so will we. Even though we will all die, one day those who trust in Christ’s death for the judgment of their sin will be raised and given new bodies just as Christ has been and those who have chosen not to trust Christ will be raised to stand judgment for their sin.

You can call me crazy but that’s what the Bible teaches. I really don’t think it’s hard to believe though. I mean, if God really is God then why would resurrecting the dead be a problem for Him? It wouldn’t. The problem isn’t believing that God can’t do it. the problem is simply believing God. Some will read what I said about trusting Jesus or standing judgment and be offended. Some will perhaps get angry and say something like, “If God’s so good why would he send people to hell?” When the truth is He doesn’t send anyone to hell. In fact He made a way for us not to go there. He just doesn’t force us to take what’s offered. Or maybe some will think I’m a delusional fool and that’s alright too, I can live with that. I just think believing God makes so much more sense than not believing Him. As Chris Tomlin has so beautifully written:

I will rise when He calls my name

Leave a Reply

