Long Way Home

Posted: August 26, 2010 in Random Thoughts
Tags: ,

The band that I play in (Jericho Down) is currently in the process of recording a CD and one of the songs we’re doing is a remake of the old hymn Coming Home (southern rock style, of course). Anyway, as I was reading about Jacob in the book of Genesis this morning I thought about my own life. I thought about the times I have wrestled with God and ran so far from Him trying to get for myself the things I thought I wanted, only to find out that He wants so much more for me. All I really need to do is be patient and obedient. As I thought about these things the words to this song began to come to mind. Check it out:

I’ve wandered far away from God

Now I’m coming home

The paths of sin too long I’ve trod

Lord’ I’m coming home

I’ve wasted many precious years

Now I’m coming home

I now repent with bitter tears

Lord, I’m coming home

I’ve tired of sin and straying, Lord

Now I’m coming home

I’ll trust Your love, believe Your word

Lord, I’m coming home

I think Jacob could certainly relate to this song. You see, Jacob was the son of Isaac and the grand son of Abraham. He grew up hearing a lot of talk about God and how God had made a promise to Abraham and how God was always faithful and would be faithful to Abraham and his descendants and all of that. He knew about God but he didn’t know God. Jacob learned at a very young age to take what he wanted. Well, as a young man this attitude backfired on him and he found himself alone,wandering in the wilderness and sleeping on the ground with a rock for a pillow. During the night though he had a dream and God spoke to him and made some very specific promises to him. The thing that interests me most though his how God introduced himself to Jacob. In Gen. 28:13 He says to Jacob, “I am the LORD, the God of Abraham your father and the God of Isaac.” He’s the God of Jacob’s father and grandfather but He’s not Jacob’s God yet, not in a personal way. In typical fashion Jacob answers God by basically trying to bargain. He says, “If God will be with me and will keep me in this way that I go, and will give me bread to eat and clothing to wear, so that I may come again to my father’s house in peace, then the LORD shall be my God.” The irony is that Jacob’s trying to bargain with God to get what God has already promised him. Jacob must have been one of those strong willed children that has a need to retain some control over his life. He’ standing there with nothing, no food, no clothes, no friends…  nothing, while God has promised to give him all the promises that belonged to Abraham and Isaac and he’s putting some conditions on it. Pretty stupid, huh? He wants God to bless him as he goes his own way. Well, he does go his own way and God does bless him, not because he bargained but simply because that’s what God intended to do anyway. God would fulfill his promise to Abraham through Jacob, despite Jacob’s apparent lack of faith. You see, Jacob didn’t need to bargain with God, all he had to do was what Abraham did. Believe God and act accordingly. But Jacob does things his way and spends many years far from home. During all of that time Jacob continually refers to God as the God of his fathers, not as his God. Twenty years later Jacob returns to this spot and he’s spent. He’s a man who has gone his own way trying to get what God had already promised him. He’s wrestled with God and he’s a broken man and comes back to this same place where God made him those promises and he makes an altar, not to the God of his father but to his God. In Gen. 35:2-3 it says, “So Jacob said to his household and to all who were with him, ‘Put away the foreign gods that are among you and purify yourselves and change your garments. Then let us arise and go up to Bethel, so that I may make there an altar to the God who answers me in the day of my distress and has been with me wherever I have gone.'” Jacob wandered far away from his home as a rebellious young man trying to get what he wanted out of life but he returns home as a man broken and surrendered to God, only to find that what he was after was what God wanted to give him in the first place.

We can save ourselves a lot of grief in life by simply believing God. God has made many promises to those who belong to Him and we can trust Him for all of them. The question is: do you belong to Him? Is He your God or is He someone else’s God that you’ve only heard about? It’s something worth considering.

Comments
  1. Mama B says:

    I LOVE IT AND I LOVE YOU. THE WORDS OF ENCOURAGEMENT FROM GOD’S WORD GOES SO DEEP WITHIN A HEART & DOES MORE THAN ANY MAN CAN DO WHEN WE LISTEN. I KNOW A LOT OF US CAN RELATE TO YOUR MESSAGE, ME BEING ONE OF THEM. ALSO, THE SONG YOU ARE GETTING READY TO RECORD IS ONE THAT I REALLY LOVE AND SUNG SO MANY TIMES FOR SPECIAL MUSIC OVER THE YEARS. CAN’T WAIT TO HEAR IT. GOD BLESS YOU ALL.
    MAMA B.

  2. Miranda B says:

    This could be my own personal testimony. It took me to the point of total brokeness to finally understand that I needed to come home and trust God 100%.
    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

