Trust and Obey

Posted: October 22, 2010 in Random Thoughts
Tags: , , , , , ,

Here’s an article I recently wrote for my church’s newsletter, I thought I would share it with everyone. Maybe it will speak to your heart.

Once again we are putting together a mission team to go to the Mexican border and share the good news of Jesus Christ with those who need to hear it. This is always an exciting time as I know that God is stirring the hearts of those in our congregation whom He has called to pray, to give, and especially to go. All three of these are essential to being on mission with God but I put the emphasis on going because going carries the greatest risk. You see, every year as God begins to stir people’s hearts I get the same questions: “Isn’t it dangerous to go to Mexico right now?” “Are you concerned about safety?” The answer is… yes. I certainly don’t want to scare anybody but I must be perfectly honest. There is certainly some risk involved. I can tell you that where we’re going is not a “hotbed” of criminal activity (drug trafficking, kidnapping, etc) but there is certainly an element of crime that is ever-present on the border. There is also an element of crime in our own cities and neighborhoods and some are worse than others, but it’s always there. I have come to the conclusion that there are certain risks in life, and there are certain risks that are worth taking. Now I can’t presume to decide what those risks are for others, I can only decide that for myself and my own family, however, if we are going to consider all the risks involved (and we should) then we must also consider the risk of disobedience to the God who has commanded us to take the gospel to the nations; the God that we serve and worship. You see it’s not enough to sing “Trust and obey, for there’s no other way to be happy in Jesus, but to trust and obey”, we must actually obey. God has called us to go to the nations with the gospel and because we love and trust Him, we must. Let me just say this, I don’t know whom God has called to serve Him by going on this particular mission or any other, I only know that He has commanded us as a church to go. All any of us can do is to be aware of the risks and prayerfully consider whether God is specifically calling us to go or not, and be obedient either way. Seek the peace that only God can give (Phil. 4:6-7) and together we will glorify Him as His body, carrying out His will.

 

Leave a Reply

