Friends

Posted: December 2, 2010 in Random Thoughts
Tags: , ,

This holiday season has got me thinking about friends and family and how much I truly have to be thankful for so I thought I would share a few thoughts about the subject of friendships.

How many friends do you have? If you look at those who follow you on Twitter you may say several. If you look at your friends list on Facebook you may say several hundred. You may even go a little further and say I have a lot of friends but only a few close friends, or maybe one best friend. I guess it really depends on how we define the word friend. It’s one of those words that we use in a really broad sense. We all call people friends simply because we know them but that doesn’t necessarily mean we would call them if we were broke down on the side of the road. We also have friends that we know we can count on no matter what. These are the people we can call anytime for anything. There’s a difference and I think it’s just a natural way in which things happen. We can surround ourselves with a community of people that we like and are friendly with and care about but there will always be just a few that we have a special friendship with. The Bible puts it this way:

“A man of many companions may come to ruin, but there is a friend who sticks closer than a brother.” (Proverbs 18:24 ESV)

Some relationships are simply built on circumstance while others transcend any circumstances. Sometimes we reach out to others only to get hurt in return. I’m reminded of a line from the Rich Mullins song Elijah that goes, “There’s people been friendly, but they’d never be a friend, sometimes this has bent me to the ground.” I’m sure most of us have had an experience like this at one time or another. The question is, is it worth it? The answer is yes. We all need some real friends to go through this life with; people we can laugh and cry with; people we can be open and honest with because we know that they love us. We all need a friend that sticks closer than a brother.

Of course this verse is ultimately fulfilled in Jesus. He’s the one that will always fulfill all the requirements of being a true friend. In fact He said that the greatest love someone can show for their friends is to die for them (John 15:13), which He has done for all of us. I’m truly grateful for the friend I have in Jesus, He’s like no other. I’m also grateful for those special friends that God has given me to go through this life with. I have been blessed with many true friends. Some I have only known for a few years while others I have known for many years. Some I see and talk to regularly, others I speak with just every so often but I know when I call we will pick up right where we left off. I appreciate all of you and hope I’m as good a friend to all of you as you are to me. After all, if you want to have a true friend you have to be a true friend.

Leave a Reply

