Family

Posted: December 20, 2010 in Random Thoughts
Tags: , ,
The other morning I got up early to drink some coffee, pray, read my Bible and spend some time with God before the day got started. The night before the kids asked if they could sleep in the living room so we pulled the hide-a-bed out from the couch and they piled in. That morning I put a log on the fire and started the coffee. As I sat there in my chair before the fire with the lamp on I found myself just watching the kids sleep, all snuggled in the covers under the glow of the Christmas tree lights, and I thought about how blessed I truly am. I have a great marriage to a beautiful wife who is also a devoted mother and committed Christian (sleeping soundly in the other room). This will be our sixteenth Christmas together (she only experienced eighteen before we met). We have three healthy children who have grown up in church and with the knowledge that God so loves them that He sent His Son to die for them so that they might have eternal life. Two of them have professed their faith in Jesus Christ as Lord and Savior and my youngest one simply has the faith of a child at this point in her life. I don’t have much money or prestige in life. I’m not famous or important but that morning I knew I was among the wealthiest and most blessed men who have ever lived.
AsI sat there and just praised God for His goodness to me I also began to think about my extended family. I won’t try to explain all the details of the relationships within my extended family, like many of yours it gets kind of crazy. I thought about my parents, stepparents, sisters, stepbrothers and stepsisters, grandparents, in-laws, aunts and uncles, and cousins. I thought about all the Christmases in the past and the times I have gathered with this part of the family or that part of the family; at this one’s house or that one’s house. I thought about the food, and the traditions, and the laughter. No family is perfect and I’m sure we all have our moments but that’s not what I remember. I remember the good things. I remember the love and the joy.
Our families are a part of who we are and we’re a part of them. Family was God’s idea and I’m thankful for all of mine. I love all of you and wish I could see you all this Christmas.
Take time to enjoy your family this year.
Merry Christmas 🙂
Comments
  1. Mama B says:

    Son,
    You are a good boy.
    God Bless, Love,
    Dad & Ma B

    • Randy Bryant says:

      Paul, To a truly great son-in-law, we are so proud of you and Brandi. We love and miss ya’ll so so much, also we have the best grandkids you could ask for. We can’t wait to see ya’ll. See ya’ll soon!

      Merry Christmas
      Love ya’ll Mom and Dad Peel

Leave a Reply

