Standing Firm

Posted: April 13, 2011 in QT's
Tags: , ,

Life can be difficult at times, I think we can all agree to that. This is true whether someone is a Christian or not. In fact many times Christians will face certain trials simply because we are Christians. At times we begin to question whether or not we are in God’s will. I am a follower of Christ and I have certainly faced trials and difficult circumstances and situations in my life and ministry.

Here are a few things I have learned along the way: 1) just because it’s not easy or the way I would like it to be doesn’t mean it isn’t God’s will, 2) it’s in the midst of trials that I find myself drawing closer to God in personal devotion and worship, 3) there is a peace and joy that comes from being broken before God that I otherwise wouldn’t have experienced, 4) my faith is strengthened by being tested, 5) I know the power and strength of Christ by experiencing my own weakness and utter inability.

I recently received the following in an email from my friend Barry Kitterman and thought it was worth passing along.

So use every piece of God’s armor to resist the enemy whenever he attacks, and when it is all over, you will still be standing up.

–Ephesians 6:13 (TLB)

Daniel and his companions were tempted to forsake their godly heritage, but they refused. They even faced a fiery furnace rather than compromise. God honored their faith and mightily used them. Moses was surrounded by the luxury and godlessness of the Egyptian court, but cast in his lot with his own people. Lot lived in Sodom and saw the obscenities of that doomed city. God saved him out of it because he trusted in Him. Every one of our Lord’s apostles sealed their faith with their lives. Since then, history has been replete with the lives of men who have put God and His way of life above all else.

Amen brother. God hasn’t promised His children a life free of hurt and trials, but He has promised to be with us in the midst of them (John 16:33) and that He would somehow use everything that His children go through for good (Romans 8:28). When we have nothing left but God we find that He is all we need. Be of good cheer, Jesus is Lord.

Leave a Reply

