The other day I was driving down my road, a typical rocky dirt road in Northwest Arkansas. It’s been unusually hot this summer and this day was no different. As I was driving down this hot, dry, dusty road lost in my own thoughts  I heard my six year old daughter say, “Daddy look at all the beautiful flowers.” I thought “What, beautiful flowers?” I looked around me and growing all along each side of the road were, you guessed it… weeds. On each of those weeds though, little blue flowers were blooming, and to my six year old it was beautiful.

In Ecclesiastes 3:11 it says, “He has made everything beautiful in its time.” God makes things beautiful. We can look all around us and see the beauty and majesty of His creation. Where I live I can see it in the hills, valleys, bluffs, rivers, and stony creeks of the Ozark Mountains. I can see it in the fireflies and in the stars and moon as I look up into the night sky. Maybe where you live you can see it in snow peaked mountain ranges, tall pines, deep canyons, open plains, or crashing ocean waves.

God makes beautiful things but He does something else, He also makes things beautiful. He can take a weed that thrives in a hot dry climate and cause a beautiful little flower to bloom from it. He can take a life that has been ravaged and broken by sin and make it into something new. He can take dead things and make them live again. I know, because I am one of those things. 2 Corinthians 5:17 says, “Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold, the new has come.” Sin is ugly. It takes the good and beautiful things that God has made and makes them into an ugly perversion of what God intended. But God, through Christ, makes them beautiful again. Christ went to the grave a bloody, broken, mangled, mess but He rose again in beauty and majesty with new life, which He makes available to all if we will only believe and trust Him for it. Not just once, but daily, hourly, minute by minute. Jesus really does make a difference. He can, and will, take our brokenness and make it beautiful.

Lord, please give me the eyes of a child; eyes to see the beautiful things you make and to see the things that you make beautiful.

All this pain

I wonder if I’ll ever find my way

I wonder if my life could really change at all

All this earth

Could all that is lost ever be found

Could a garden come up from this ground at all

 

You make beautiful things

You make beautiful things out of the dust

You make beautiful things

You make beautiful things out of us

All around

Hope is springing up from this old ground

Out of chaos life is being found in You

 

You make beautiful things

You make beautiful things out of the dust

You make beautiful things

You make beautiful things out of us

 

You make me new

 You are making me new

You make me ne

 You are making me new

                                                                                                                              –Beautiful ThingsGungor

Leave a Reply

