A Satisfied Mind

Posted: April 19, 2012 in QT's
Tags: , , , , , ,

If you had the chance to choose one thing in all the world to be yours what would it be? Would you choose something like money, fame, or looks? Would you, like King Solomon, choose wisdom? Would you choose love? What one thing would you desire above all else?

I ask the question because I think we are all pursuing something? It could be one of things mentioned above or it could be something else, but we all spend our lives pursuing something. The object of our pursuit may even change throughout our lives. A person may spend much of their life pursuing something and either give up or find out what they got wasn’t really what they wanted after all. You see, I think what we all really want is peace of mind and so we strive for the thing or things that we think will give it to us.

In 2Samuel we find the story of a young man who spent his life pursuing things that he thought would bring him peace, but in the end only destroyed him. In 2Samuel 13-18 we read about a prince of Israel named Absalom. He was a young man bent on revenge. He wanted revenge on his brother for a terrible crime that he committed against their family and he wanted revenge on his father, King David, for not doing anything about it. He got his revenge on his brother by killing him and years later he plotted and took the throne from his father. In the end Absalom’s treachery only cost him his life and brought more grief on his family. The things he thought would bring him peace and stop the ache in his heart only caused more pain. It’s a very tragic story with a sad ending.

What about your story, how will it end? What are you pursuing and why? What will it bring you? Will your story end in tragedy or triumph? What if I told you that you could have peace of mind, would you pursue it?

The fact is, you can have peace of mind. It’s found in knowing Christ. In John 16:33 Jesus says, “In me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.” It’s simple, that doesn’t mean it’s easy. You have to choose Him over those other things that you keep chasing.

How many times have you heard someone say,
“If I had his money I’d do things my way.”
But little they know that it’s so hard to find
One rich man in ten with a satisfied mind.

Once I was winning in fortune and fame;
Everything that I dreamed for to get a start in life’s game.
But suddenly it happened, I lost every dime,
But I’m richer by far with a satisfied mind.

Money can’t buy back your youth when you’re old
Or a friend when you’re lonely or a love that’s grown cold;
The wealthiest person is a pauper at times
Compared to the man with a satisfied mind.

When life has ended, my time has run out,
My friends and my loved ones I’ll leave, there’s no doubt.
But one thing for certain, when it comes my time,
I’ll leave this old world with a satisfied mind.

-“Red” Hayes and Jack Rhodes

Leave a Reply

