A New Year And A New Adventure

Posted: January 1, 2013 in QT's
Tags: , , , , , ,

2013-new-year Here we are, the dawn of a new year. As I sit and reflect on the past year so many things come to mind. I am in my reading chair with a cup of coffee, my Bible and a few other books for devotional reading, and my MacBook. Everyone else is asleep and, for now, the house is quiet. This is a very familiar and comfortable place for me. It’s where I come to personally meet with God and begin each day and where I spend much time studying. I like things to be comfortable and familiar and I’m especially enjoying it this morning because I’ve missed it for the past week. You see, I’ve been on an adventure.

I set out last week to go on a mission trip but evidently God had other plans. The details aren’t important but through a series of events it became evident to my wife and I that God didn’t intend for us to go and instead we were able to spend several days with family and see some old friends. It was an unexpected opportunity for us to rest a little, get recharged, and even be inspired for another year of ministry. It was unplanned but it was good.

jump-for-joySo now, as I sit here, a year older (literally, today is both mine and my wife’s birthday) and hopefully a little wiser, and reflect on the past year and contemplate the new one I am feeling both thankful and hopeful. I am filled with a strong sense of God’s presence and I know that He is very much alive and active in my life, in the lives of my family and friends, and in the life of my church. The past year, like the past week, was filled with trials and triumphs. There were times of disappointment and worry but there were also opportunities and blessings. God really does  take our sorrow, fear, and failure and turn it into joy, faith, and victory. He makes all things new.

I have no idea what the new year holds but I do know this: with God, every door closed leads to another one opened, every disappointment is an opportunity for something greater, every fear is a lesson in faith, every tear can be turned from sorrow to joy, and every failure can be a step towards victory. God is good like that.

Let me leave you with these words from someone who understood all of this very well, the apostle Paul:

“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold, the new has come.” (2Corinthians 5:17, ESV)

The first thing God wants to make new is each of us, and He does that through a relationship with Jesus Christ. I can promise you, it’s an adventure! Are you ready for a new year and a new adventure? I am.

Happy New Year, Paul

New-Adventures-Await

Comments
  1. Wendy Pruitt says:

    Great thoughts to start our new year off with focus!

Leave a Reply

