Doing What I Love

Posted: March 14, 2013 in Random Thoughts
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

astroIf you could do or be anything you wanted what would it be? Remember when you were a kid and you used to talk about what you wanted to be when you grew up? When I was a kid I wanted to be an astronaut and own a big ranch. Then, when I became a teenager I picked up a guitar and wanted to be a rock star. Those were crazy dreams I guess, but it was sure fun to dream. In the words of John Mellencamp, “But just like everything else, those little crazy dreams just kinda came and went.”

That’s okay though, because God had something better.

I didn’t become an astronaut, a rancher, or a rock star. I get to do something better. I get to be a pastor. That may not sound fun and exciting to most people but there’s nothing else I would rather do or be. You see, when I was twenty-two I gave my heart and life to Jesus and he changed my course forever. Years later, in my late twenties God called me to serve Him as a pastor. I didn’t know what all of that meant at the time (and I’m still learning everyday) but I knew without a doubt that God was calling me.

For almost twelve years now I have served God as an associate and youth pastor at four different churches in two different states. I have been at my present church,  the First Baptist Church of Garfield, AR for half of those years and Sunday, March 10, 2013 I became the Lead Pastor. It has been a crazy ride sometimes but I wouldn’t change any of it. I’ve served with some good and godly people and pastors and have learned a lot. I can only hope that I have blessed as many people as have blessed me over the years and that I will make all of those who have invested into me and my ministry proud.

steepleTo my church family at FBC Garfield let me say thank you for believing in me. God has some good things in store for us and I look forward to continuing to serve God by serving you. As far as I’m concerned, your the best church family in the world!

This may not be what I dreamed about doing when I was a kid, but I wouldn’t trade it for anything now. I truly am blessed because I get to do what I love. I get to be a pastor.

“So I exhort the elders among you, as a fellow elder and a witness of the sufferings of Christ, as well as a partaker in the glory that is going to be revealed: shepherd the flock of God that is among you, exercising oversight, not under compulsion, but willingly, as God would have you; not for shameful gain, but eagerly; not domineering over those in your charge, but being examples to the flock. And when the chief Shepherd appears, you will receive the unfading crown of glory.” (1Peter 5:1-4)

Leave a Reply

